Twitter Facebook Google+
Call us: +0034 676721763 | E-mail: info(at)birdwatchingspain.net

Birdwatching Spain reviews

Birdwatching Spain reviews

 

Please, notice that we just publish few of the many positive reviews we get every year. Thanks so much for being part of this company.

 

Reviews

 

Hi Pau

We are now settled back into life in Adelaide and I just wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed our birdwatching with you. It was one of the top highlights of the month long trip for us both (and we had a fantastic holiday). The waders and water birds at the private area at Albufera and handling the warblers were just amazing, as was the lovely variety of countryside you took us to.

Claire Sweeney. September 2017

 

During our holiday in Benidorm we enjoyed a day with Pau birdwatching in El Hondo and Santa Pola. Beyond his obvious knowledge of birds and where to find them, Pau shows enthusiasm and concern for all wildlife and we would certainly recommend him as a first class guide.

Thanks Pau from John and Betty Winnard. January 2016

 

We arranged a full day trip in advance with Pau of Birdwatching Spain during August and he tailored a trip to cater for my main interest in birds and my wife’s more general interest in wildlife and ecology. We were staying in Xàbia and Pau collected us from our accommodation at 8am (nice air con van with plenty of space for equipment etc.) and delivered us safely home again! We visited Parc Natural de la Marjal de Pego-Oliva in the morning where we had the privilege of getting involved with some bird ringing – Close encounters with Great Reed warblers and Savi’s was a treat. We also spent some time around the reserve where Pau’s local knowledge got us to some nice little areas of wetland off the beaten track and a great range of birds; too many to mention here but included lots of Wood sandpiper, bee eater, hoopoe,little stint ,Fan tailed warbler, Purple, Night and Squacco heron etc etc. Pau is also hot on dragonflies and a number of species were pointed out. It was also good to be able to discuss the history and background to the site too. It was hot so plenty of water is advised but there is little walking to be done at this site.
After lunch which we had at a cafe in Pego we had a choice of heading into the hills for Bonelli’s Eagle or a trip to an inland site for dragonflies plus some different bird species. We opted for the dragonflies and set off first to a site off road near La Vall d’Ebo to check for Scops owl – no owls but we had a great time checking out the interesting flora and a wide range of reptiles plus further birds such as Woodchat shrike and a site for Orphean warbler. We spent the rest of the afternoon checking out a site for dragonflies which was gretr fun – Pau seemed very determined to ensure that we saw as many interesting species as possible during the day but there was a relaxed atmosphere throughout the day. On the way back from a full days wildlife watching we stopped to watch a pair of Short toed eagles at close range. A real treat!
The day was a great success and excellent value for money, tailored to our requirements and aided by a great guide with expert knowledge. We are already planning to return next year.

Janine and Trevor Fletcher. Caerphilly County, UK. Pego Marshes and Alicangte mountains tour. September 2015

The last week of January 2015 I made with two friends  a bird photography tour to Spain, to Gallocanta in Aragon and Sierra Morena in Andalucia. All practical arrangements, including guiding, hides, accommodation, meals and transportation, were taken care of by Pau Lucio (birdwatchingspain.net). We were picked up at Madrid airport to drive Gallocanta and left at Malaga airport after finishing photo sessions in Sierra Morena.

Gallocanta exceeded our expectations as a great site of crane photography. 16 000 cranes were present. Flight pictures in the morning and evening could be readily taken at good angles as well as stationary images from hides. Other species included common  buzzard, hen harrier, red kite, common kestrel, curlew and raven. Our hotel was in Tornos village and was comfortable including good meals.

On day 3 we drove in Pau Lucios car  to Adamuz in Sierra Morena, Andalucia. There were hides for raptors, passerines and little owl. The hides were spacious, clean and had good visibility though windows equipped with one-way glass. WC’s were available as well. At the raptor hide we took pictures of Spanish imperial eagle (at about 60 m distance, not landing), golden eagle and griffon vulture. Other species included azure-winged magpie, black redstart, chaffinch, robin, great spotted woodpecker and blackbird. At the other  hides we had crossbill, rock bunting, nuthatch, crested tit, hawfinch, Sardinian warbler, blackcap, magpie, meadow pipit and chiffchaff. Accommodation and meals were in Adamuz, everything at a good standard. We ended our visit in gorgeous Cordoba at a good Spanish dinner.

This one week’s trip to Spain was well organized, without any discomfort. The yield was a number of good images. Close-ups of some species could have been more. This may make require a new trip.

Heikki Helin. Helsinki, Finland. Photography tour. January 2015

The trip was one of the best I have been on. You are a first class birder with great knowledge of the birds and areas you took me to. I will definitely book another tour with you for next year.

Vernon Robinson. Norfolk, UK. El Hondo de Elche and Salinas de Santa Pola Tour. January 2015

I booked Pau for a couple of days the end of July. I was on a family holiday but wanted to fit in a couple of days of serious birding. We spent one day in the Alicante area, and the other inland in the Albacete area. I had emailed Pau before hand with a “wish list” of species, and despite it being the middle of summer and not the best time of year, we found nearly all of them. The definite highlight for me was the stunning views of Little Bustard. Pau is an excellent birder, and clearly has a detailed knowledge of the best sites – as well as this he is a great guy and a pleasure to bird with. I can thoroughly recommend Pau.

Richard Rae, UK. Great Bustard and El Hondo de Elche and Salinas de Santa Pola Tour. July 2014

While visiting non-birding relations in Javea, not a great area for birds, I booked a day’s birding with Pau and we had a great trip. Pau is an expert birder and has a very good knowledge of the area. We visited Pego marshes and also a Natural Park high in the sierras, finishing up at a Griffon Vulture colony. I saw quite a few lifers and birds I have only seen as vagrants in the UK. My personal favourites were Squacco Heron and Bonelli’s Warbler. Pau was good company. He is an active bird ringer and is seriously concerned about conservation issues in Spain. I shall definitely be booking him again when I return to Spain, and would not hesitate to recommend him to others.

Bon Groves, UK. Pego Marshes and Forest Birds Tour. July 2014

I spent 2 weeks birding with Pau and enjoyed the birds, great scenery, and his informative and friendly company while on the road. Pau compiled a well organized itinerary for a comprehensive bird tour of Spain that let me spend the first 4 days in the field near Valencia, but able to return for the evening to be with my wife at a nearby beach resort in Gandia. From there, we went on to the Belchite Steppes, the Pyrenees, and the La Mancha area. By not having to go with a tour company, I didn’t have to have dinner late at night, was able to eat fresh fruit and vegetables that he packed in a cooler, and we could stop for coffee whenever we wanted. He speaks very good English and always made sure the hotels took care of me and made sure my wife got on her train. I highly recommend Pau for any type of birding or nature tour, especially if you don’t want to be on a large group tour that has no flexibility for meals and making changes in the schedule if there are some good opportunities. (we took an evening detour to see an eagle owl chick in the nest)! Because of the flexibility, I was able to spend some of the trip with my non birding wife, and she was able to enjoy the beach. This was my first European bird tour, and birding with Pau in Spain was an excellent choice.

Lauren Friedman, California, EEUU. Tailor Made tour around Spain. May 2014

I was guided by Pau during a trip to Cazorla and Doñana. He is very knowledgeable and professional and knows the area like the back of his hand; where to find the good birds, accommodation and the breathtaking landscapes. I was amazed by the beauty of the scenery, wild and unspoiled mountains of Cazorla and the diversity of habitats in Doñana. Pau showed us excellent views of the Spanish Imperial Eagle, the elegant Black Stork and even a group of Griffon Vultures feasting on a dead horse. All in all, Pau is very friendly and skilled, so I would not hesitate to recommend a trip with him. Hopefully, our next tour with him will be in the search of the threatened Iberian Lynx!

James Smith, London UK. Doñana and Cazorla Tour. March 2014

The trip to Doñana and Cazorla with Pau was amazing. Well worth the money and very enjoyable. He was an exceptional guide whose local knowledge enabled us to view some spectacular bird sights. I was speechless watching very close the Griffon’s displaying, dancing in the air. We also had superb views of Great Bustards and Spanish Imperial Eagle. We did over 60 “lifers” and I realized how perfect nature is. With no doubt, we will be back for more and we strongly recommend Pau for a birding holiday.

Ann Watson, London UK. Doñana and Cazorla Tour. March 2014

I have hired Pau several times during the last 4 years. He is one of the best ornithologists and guides I have ever met. He knows where to find the good birds. Besides, his knowledge goes far from birds. Pau is good at tracking dawn species and also guides in a relaxed and friendly way. Last week we went with him to Gallocanta. There, we were wordless when thousands and thousands of Cranes flew over our heads. As Pau mentioned, this year has been a stunning record of more than 50000 cranes wintering in the area!. We also watched Hen Harriers, Golden Eagle, Griffon Vulture, Red Kite, Firecrest, Crested Tit, Wild boar, Roe Deer, etc. He offers a really good value for money tours, so that I can’t recommend him highly enough.

Raphael Casas, Bristol, UK. Gallocanta Tour. February 2014.

My husband and I had the great pleasure of birding with Pau this past November (2013). Pau was extremely knowledgeable, not only about birds but all the other flora and fauna that we encountered. Our first excursion was to the Albufera NP area at Valencia with rice fields and wetlands. We saw a good variety of species, including several lifers for myself, such as booted eagle, zitting cisitcola and moustached warbler. Our next excursion was in the Albacete area, which is higher elevation farmland and lagoons. The wind wasn’t kind to us, but Pau was able to track down great bustards and the white-headed duck. Thank you Pau for a great experience.

Janna Lesie, Naramata, BC, Canada. Albufera and Gallocanta Tour. Novembre 2013.

 

Comments are closed.